Skip to Main Content Saint Mary's Libraries

CREDO Online Reference

Credo Logo

CREDO provides online access to 650+ full text eBooks including encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and much more.  Searches can be expanded to include articles in SMU databases for more in depth coverage. 

CREDO's Philosophy Research Guide

Stanford Online Encyclopedia

Standford Online Encyclopedia

An excellent open-access reference source created by contributions from libraries and philosophy departments all over the world. Features in depth articles with extensive bibliographies.

Online-full text access

Examples from the Winona Library

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy

2 volumes

"Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events, and people"-

Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more. Additionally, the encyclopedia also contains 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history

Routledge Companion to Epistemology

Provides a comprehensive survey of epistemology, charting its history, providing a thorough account of its key thinkers and movements, and addressing enduring questions and contemporary research in the field