OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search many of our library databases at once, along with our print and ebook collections, video collections, and more. Note that OneSearch defaults to retrieving only materials we have in full text; to see more results you can obtain through Interlibrary Loan, simply click the slider next to Expand My Results on the left side of your results screen.
Essential Research Databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPremier database for scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a large, multidisciplinary collection of scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Indexes some 365 journals in the field of philosophy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides multidisciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1)is available in full text. Check "Include links to external content" if you want more search results, some of which may need to be requested from other libraries. Access to 134 journals in the fields of philosophy. - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowAn excellent open-access reference source created by contributions from libraries and philosophy departments all over the world. Features in depth articles with extensive bibliographies.
Also Useful
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
Tips for Searching Online Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“death of God”)
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings
For example: ethic* will retrieve records for ethic, ethics, ethical, ethicist
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (“William James” AND “will to believe”) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (moral OR ethical) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word moral as well as all records containing the word ethical come back to you.
NOT: (Kierkegaard NOT “fear and trembling”) will brings back records about Kierkegaard and none that are about fear and trembling.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (lib@smumn.edu)