Liaison Librarian
Welcome!
This guide is designed for undergraduate students enrolled in chemistry classes at Saint Mary's.
Use this guide to get in touch with the research tools associated with your field.
If you have questions, please reach out to your liaison librarian, stop by the reference desk, or utilize our 24/7 chat.
Key Resources
Use OneSearch to search many of our library databases at once, along with our print and ebook collections, video collections, and more. Note that OneSearch defaults to retrieving only materials we have in full text; to see more results you can obtain through Interlibrary Loan, simply click the slider next to Expand My Results on the left side of your results screen.
Also try searching the databases below
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals from the American Chemical Society--a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. - ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 100 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from hundreds of high-quality data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowProvides researchers unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. You can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references. To use SciFinder you must first register to set up a login and password. This must be done on campus and with your smumn.edu e-mail address. SciFinder will issue you a login and password which will also work for off campus access. Use this link for self registration.
