Theology Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.Over 300 journals devoted to the study of religion & theology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Provides access to 144 journals in areas of religion and theology. - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPremier database for scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews.
- Catholic Research Resources Alliance This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to the Catholic Portal, featuring rare, unique and uncommon Catholic scholarly resources and to the Catholic Newspaper program whose goal is to provide access to all extant Catholic newspapers published in North America.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals. Includes Currents in Biblical Research, Journal for the Study of the Old Testament, Feminist Theology, and more.
Also Useful
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a number of key journals in the areas of religion and theology.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Tips for Searching Online Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“death of God”)
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings
For example: ethic* will retrieve records for ethic, ethics, ethical, ethicist
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search.
AND: (“Thomas Aquinas” AND Job) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (moral OR ethical) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word moral as well as all records containing the word ethical come back to you.
NOT: (Kierkegaard NOT “fear and trembling”) will brings back records about Kierkegaard and none that are about fear and trembling.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (lib@smumn.edu)