Course and Subject Guides: PsyD Guide: Databases

Recommended Databases

PsycINFO
PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association and is a comprehensive indexing and abstracting database for psychology and related fields. It contains over a million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports..
PsycInfo differs from PsycArticles in scope. PsycInfo is comprehensive and covers materials and publishers not included in PsycArticles. PsycArticles is a full-text database featuring peer-reviewed content published by the APA and affiliated presses.

More Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association (APA), a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and others. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.
PsycArticles differs from PsycInfo in scope. PsycArticles is a full-text database featuring peer-reviewed content published by the APA and affiliated presses. PsycInfo is comprehensive and covers materials and publishers not included in PsycArticles. Material included in PsycArticles is also available in PsycInfo.
Psychology Journals
Encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS provides access to published and unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, and surveys, as well as descriptive information about the resources including their development, reliability and validity, and administration. PsycTESTS focuses primarily on unpublished tests - those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. PsycTESTS is useful for students studying psychology, education, medicine, business,
and social work.