Table of Contents
Locate research cited by
One of the new features available in OneSearch is the ability to easily find and link to articles that cite the current article. This is sometimes referred to as as forward snowballing, but OneSearch calls it Find sources citing this. There are a few caveats to consider when using this tool. One important one to grasp is that because the tool OneSearch only contains a finite set of articles, users will find more content in the tool Google Scholar when performing the Cited By search.
Instructions:
1.) Search for an article.
2.) Click on the red upward arrows icon along the top panel of the item record. This icon reads Find sources citing this as you hover over it.
This method of searching can be helpful if you have identified one article that is highly pertinent to your topic, and you are having trouble finding more.
Locate research cited in
OneSearch features a cited in tool. This tool allows you to see all of the sources that are used to support the arguments in the article of interest. Using this tool has advantages over simply looking through a PDF version and digging into the references. This allows you to easily find supporting research and obtain it without worrying about pesky complexities like journal abbreviations and copying/pasting text from a reference list.
Instructions:
1.) Locate an article of interest using OneSearch.
2.) Click on the downward pointing red arrow icon. Hovering over this icon will show the text, Find sources cited in this.
Expand my results
The options to filter items using the criteria listed along the left side are very similar to other databases. These are called filters. Below modify results, note there is an option to Expand my Results. Toggling this facet on will increase the number of results and look beyond items to which Saint Mary's has immediate access. This feature can be useful when you know you have time to retrieve items via Interlibrary Loan. Or when you know project objectives dictate it's best to look broadly for resources, rather than rely on the immediate access provided by Saint Mary's Library.
Note in the example screenshots below, OneSearch displays under 2,000 items before clicking to Expand My Results, and over 3,000 after we turn on the setting.
Before toggling on Expand My Results:
After toggling on Expand My Results:
Search in full-text
When toggled on, the Search in full text feature will expand your results number. OneSearch is able to also search the first 65,000 characters of a full-text document when it has the document available. This means that the results numbers will resemble those you might find in Google Scholar, because Google Scholar also finds matching terms from the full text of articles when available to the search tool.
In OneSearch, the results with the user-input terms in the fields of the record (title, description, author, etc.) will still be displayed as more relevant than those with only terms in the full text when sorting by relevance.
Note how the results numbers change in the images below from under 2000 with the Search in Full Text toggled off to almost 20,000 with the Search in Full Text toggled on.
Search in Full Text toggled off
Search in Full Text toggled on
