Core Subject Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing and Allied Health contains a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Databases
-
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes peer-reviewed journals and reports, as well as pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Each year Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
-
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 200 leading titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access note: Cochrane reviews are freely available 12 months after publication and all protocols are freely available immediately. Other material is not available, but may be accessible through interlibrary loan. -
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, designed to support the information needs of patients and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, books, reports, and pamphlets.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU." -
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
-
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is a patient-oriented online health information resource distinct from PubMed/MEDLINE. Available in both English and Spanish, it brings together reliable information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Topic pages contain links to medical journal articles on PubMed. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health and wellness news.
-
MedPix This link opens in a new windowMedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. The primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.
-
MeSHMeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM (National Library of Medicine) controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing and Allied Health contains a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
-
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new windowPLoS publishes peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
-
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Searches performed in PubMed/MEDLINE link out to full-text articles in PubMed Central, when available.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's largest providers of scholarly, peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical literature. Access to journals in mathematics, social sciences, arts and humanities, and business as well.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new windowChoose Sign in with Open Athens, then search for Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. From here, you should be prompted to create an account.
UpToDate offers clinical, drug, patient and member content to support all health professionals. It offers evidence-based medicine that can be used for clinical and drug decision support. UpToDate also offers its content in an app, just search for UpToDate in the Android or iOS app store.
-
UpToDate IntroductionClick here for an UpToDate overview, instructions on how to register for an account and maintain access, and access the UpToDate mobile app.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (lib@smumn.edu)