Liaison Librarian
Find it in the Library
This page is designed for students enrolled in health sciences and nursing courses. You'll find discipline-specific databases, books, some research tips to make the process easier, and a brief overview of citation practices.
If you have questions, please reach out to your liaison librarian, stop by the reference desk, or utilize our 24/7 chat.
New Resource
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Choose Sign in with Open Athens, then search for Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. From here, you should be prompted to create an account.
UpToDate offers clinical, drug, patient and member content to support all health professionals. It offers evidence-based medicine that can be used for clinical and drug decision support. UpToDate also offers its content in an app, just search for UpToDate in the Android or iOS app store.
- UpToDate IntroductionClick here for an UpToDate overview, instructions on how to register for an account and maintain access, and access the UpToDate mobile app.
Key Resources
Use OneSearch to search many of our library databases at once, along with our print and ebook collections, video collections, and more. Note that OneSearch defaults to retrieving only materials we have in full text; to see more results you can obtain through Interlibrary Loan, simply click the slider next to Expand My Results on the left side of your results screen.
Also try searching in the databases listed below.
- CINAHL Ultimate with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules. - Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing and Allied Health contains a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free, online journal citation database. It includes abstracts/citations from more than 5,200 scholarly journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed encompasses everything from MEDLINE, plus eBooks and other science citations. Tip: To find the full text of an article in PubMed/MEDLINE, select the article title in the search results. On the next page, select one of the full text buttons on the top right. If there's no link, you can still request the article through interlibrary loan.