Key Resources
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association and is a comprehensive indexing and abstracting database for psychology and related fields. It contains over a million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports..
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Multidisciplinary Article Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU." - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
Subject Specific Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals. Includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center provides access to a large collection of education journals and documents.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA), a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and others. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS provides access to published and unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, and surveys, as well as descriptive information about the resources including their development, reliability and validity, and administration. PsycTESTS focuses primarily on unpublished tests - those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. PsycTESTS is useful for students studying psychology, education, medicine, business,
and social work. - SocArXiv This link opens in a new windowAn open-access repository for pre-prints, working papers, and published papers.
- Social Science Research Network eLibrary Search This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. Provides large collection of open access abstracts and journal articles. Also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
