Cambridge Library print
Useful Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Article First This link opens in a new windowOCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Indexes some 16,000 journals from all disciplines. It does not provide access to full text articles, but instead shows which libraries subscribe to specific journal titles and links for Interlibrary Loan requests.
- Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowAccess to the online version of Britannica Encyclopaedia, the academic edition. Includes Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, videos, biographies, country data, and links to the BBC News and the New York Times.
- ECO Electronic Collections Online This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 5,000 scholarly journal titles in all disciplines. Provides abstracts and links to full text articles.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for literature researchers. Indexes journals, books, and dissertations in the fields of language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to some 5,000 journals.
- Salem Literature This link opens in a new windowProvides access to various volumes from the following sets: Magill's Literary Criticism--Yearly Essay-Review of 200 Outstanding Books, 1977-2014 and Salem Critical Insights, a distillation of both classic and current literary criticism of some of the world's most-studied literature.
Tips for Searching Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Put phrases in quotation marks: "gothic imagination" "miracle play" "Elizabethan period" "dramatic irony"
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings. For example: roman* will retrieve records for romantic, romanticism, romance, romantics, etc.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (romantics AND gothic) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: ("female characters" OR "women characters") Broadens your search so that all records containing the term female characters as well as all records containing the term women characters come back to you.
NOT: ("Elizabethan playwrights" NOT Shakespeare) Narrows your search so that you get records Elizabethan playwrights but none that are about Shakespeare.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (507-457-1562 / lib@smumn.edu)