Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Saint Mary's Fitzgerald Library | Home

English Guide

Welcome

Welcome! This guide is designed for students enrolled in English classes at SMU, from first years to seniors.

Use this guide to get in touch with the research tools associated with the field of English literature.

If you have questions, please reach out to your liaison librarian or use the LibChat widget.

Key Resources

Some of the key resources you'll likely want to be familiar with include:

MLA International Bibliography

 Premier resource for literature researchers. Indexes journals, books, and dissertations in the fields of literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to some 5,000 journals.

Academic Search Premier

Large, scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing indexing for over 8,500 journals with full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed publications. Some 600 journals cover subjects in literature.

JSTOR

Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).

Literature Resource Center

Find biographical information, literary criticism, book reviews, as well as full text poems and stories. Covers writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Project MUSE

Comprehensive, multidisciplinary source for scholarly journals and books. Our collection is available in full text. Uncheck "Only content I have full access to" if you want more search results, some of which may need to be requested from other libraries.

English Research

Writers collage image

Creative Commons image