Research Databases
Do you need high quality credible sources? Databases are a quick way to find sources you can use in your assignments. Databases contain curated collections of sources that can be refined with search tools and strategies. Here are just a few of the databases available to you as a Saint Mary's student.
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
-
Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
-
U.S. Newsstream CollectionFrom ProQuest, full text access to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
-
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowFind images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the U.S. Provides an "open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums." Includes primary source sets.
-
Google News Archive Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the archives of newspapers, magazines, and other publications and create timelines.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
Journals in Sports Media
Like databases, academic journals allow you to find peer-reviewed sources. If you want access to an article that the Library does not have, you can request it through interlibrary loan.
-
Communication & SportCommunication and Sport (C&S) is a cutting-edge, peer-reviewed bimonthly journal that publishes research to foster international scholarly understanding of the nexus of communication and sport. C&S publishes research and critical analysis from diverse disciplinary and theoretical perspectives to advance understanding of communication phenomena in the varied contexts through which sport touches individuals, society, and culture.
-
Journal of Sport and Social IssuesThe Journal of Sport and Social Issues is an international leader in the publication of critically oriented, interdisciplinary research on sport, its structure, and its role(s) in the contemporary, global world. Given sport’s ever-expanding scope and its complicated relationships with power and privilege, this work is needed now more than ever.
-
Journal of Sports MediaThe Journal of Sports Media is a response to the undeniable influence of sports media on contemporary culture and the growing interest in the field as an area of study and research. It provides a broad-based exploration of the field and promotes a greater understanding of sports media in terms of their practices, value, and effect on the culture as a whole.