Subject Librarian
Have an assignment, but not sure where to start? Check out resources selected by your subject librarian:
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research. Image designed by Freepik.
Sage Journals
Access to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology. Image designed by Freepik.
JSTOR
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan). Image designed by Freepik.
Examining Identity in Sports Media
Communication issues involving sports media permeate myriad levels of society. Using a wide variety of theoretical and methodological constructs, this book examines various media to expose how the intersection of sport and media construct reinforce, and perpetuate perceptions of human identities.
Fundamentals of Communication in Sports
Sports are getting more important in every individual's life besides the athletes at all levels. Trainers are guiding, teaching, and motivating athletes. Improving communication skills is very important to achieving a successful result.
Sports Media, Marketing, and Management: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice
The application of marketing and management concepts to sports products and services is vital to the success of the industry. When appealing to the target audience of an event, it is essential to construct a strong marketing plan by utilizing emergent technologies and strategies.
Game On: How Sports Media Grew Up, Sold Out, and Got Personal with Billions of Fans
In Game On David Bockino, a former marketing and advertising manager at ESPN turned professor of communications and sport management, provides the first overview of the evolution of the sports media industry. Written at a time of great uncertainty and rapid change and told through the fascinating stories of the most important innovations, matchups, events, and personalities over the last hundred years.
Sports and Identity: New Agendas in Communication
This volume of essays examines the ways in which sports have become a means for the communication of social identity in the United States.
No Slam Dunk: Gender, Sport, and the Unevenness of Social Change
Progress toward gender equity in sports is far from complete. The continuing barriers to full and equal participation for young people, the far lower pay for most elite-level women athletes, and the continuing dearth of fair and equal media coverage all underline how much still has yet to change before we see gender equality in sports.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication.
