Useful Websites
- Pro/ConProCon, from Britannica, "is a leading nonpartisan site for learning the top arguments behind debatable issues of the day."
- Legal Information InstituteThis site from the Legal Information Institute of Cornell Law School provides the text of the Second Amendment, as well as a brief history of the courts' interpretations of it.
- Pew Research Center"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
Useful Library Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Including pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, it is useful for term papers, debates, and speeches. Use the archival reports for history research.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Consists of a series of essays presenting multiple sides of a current issue. Provides over 250 topics, each with an overview, point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
- WestlawNEXT This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of news, business, and law-related information sources. Provides hundreds of newspapers--national and international, magazines, news wires, trade journals, as well as company information from Hoover's and reporting from Reuter's. Includes federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative codes, as well as European Union information, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, and American Jurisprudence 2d. All MN State Statutes are available here.
Books in the Library
Armed in America: A History of Gun Rights from Colonial Militias to Concealed Carry by Call Number: 344.730533 C47ISBN: 9781633883130Publication Date: 2018
America's Gun Wars: A Cultural History of Gun Control in the United States by Call Number: 363.33 C18ISBN: 9781440870293Publication Date: 2019
The Gun Debate: What Everyone Needs to Know by Call Number: 363.33 C77 2020ISBN: 9780190073466Publication Date: 2020
Guns 360: Differing Perspectives and Common-Sense Approaches to Firearms in America by Call Number: 363.33 G97sISBN: 9781538140673Publication Date: 2022
Find more books on this subject near the call numbers of the books listed above!