Useful Websites
- Racial Profiling: Constitutional and Statutory Considerations for Congress (Congressional Research Service)The Congressional Research Service (CRS) "serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress." Its mission is to provide Congress with research and analysis on all issues of national policy.
- Racial Profiling: Past, Present, and Future? (American Bar Association)Written by a criminal law professor from University of Pittsburgh School of Law, this article explores the history and current state of racial profiling in the United States.
The American Bar Association (ABA) is a voluntary bar association made up of lawyers and law students; their stated goals include the formulation of model ethical codes related to the legal profession.
Useful Library Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Including pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, it is useful for term papers, debates, and speeches. Use the archival reports for history research.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains some 300,000 articles selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Consists of a series of essays presenting multiple sides of a current issue. Provides over 250 topics, each with an overview, point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
Books in the Library
Suspect Citizens: What 20 Million Traffic Stops Tell Us About Policing and Race by Call Number: 363.23 B34ISBN: 9781108429313Publication Date: 2018
Colorblind Racial Profiling: A History, 1974 to the Present by Call Number: General Collection - Lower Level 363.23 P12ISBN: 9781138630772Publication Date: 2018
The Use and Abuse of Police Power in America: Historical Milestones and Current Controversies by Call Number: General Collection - Lower Level 363.23 U84ISBN: 9781440843723Publication Date: 2017
The Rise of Big Data Policing by Call Number: General Collection - Lower Level 363.232 F35ISBN: 9781479892822Publication Date: 2017
Find more books on this subject near the call numbers of the books listed above!