Harriet Martineau (image source)
OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search many of our library databases at once, along with our print and ebook collections, video collections, and more. Note that OneSearch defaults to retrieving only materials we have in full text; to see more results you can obtain through Interlibrary Loan, simply click the slider next to Expand My Results on the left side of your results screen.
Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Explore Census Data This link opens in a new windowFrom the U.S. Census Bureau, provides population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan). - Social Science Research Network eLibrary Search This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. Provides large collection of open access abstracts and journal articles. Also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- SocArXiv This link opens in a new windowProvides an open archive of the social sciences in partnership with Open Science Framework Preprints.
- EBP - Evidence Based Practice DatabasesOpen access social work database and resources for EBP from Simmons University
What is "Peer Review" ?
Peer review is a process that journal editors use to ensure that the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc. Only articles that pass the review are published in the journal. (University of Texas Libraries)
"Research holding the torch of knowledge" (1896)
Olin Levi Warner
Creative Commons image