Databases for Philosophy
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan). - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPremier database for scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowAn excellent open-access reference source created by contributions from libraries and philosophy departments all over the world. Features in depth articles with extensive bibliographies.
Databases for Business
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned for business researchers, provides full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Business Source Premier provides easy access to country economic data, company profiles, industry information, SWOT analyses, and market research.
- Emerald This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing all peer reviewed journal titles focusing on management issues. Subjects covered include management, human resources, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, and electronic and electrical engineering.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan). - Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to U. S. and international company data including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Provides 15 years of detailed financial information. Includes country reports.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's largest providers of scholarly, peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical literature. Access to journals in mathematics, social sciences, arts and humanities, and business as well.
Tips for Searching Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Use key words to search, not full sentences: "parental consent" AND abortion not should a teenager have to get parental consent before having an abortion?
Put phrases in quotation marks: "corporate social responsibility" "child labor" "fiduciary responsibility" "global warming" "Keynesian economics"
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings. For example: ethic* will retrieve records for ethic, ethics, ethical, ethicist
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (“corporate social responsibility” AND Nike) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (worker OR employee) Broadens your search so that all records containing the term worker as well as all records containing the term employee come back to you.
NOT: ("trade agreements" NOT NAFTA) Narrows your search so that you get records about trade agreements but none that are about NAFTA