Skip to Main Content Saint Mary's Libraries

Why Use Reference Books?

Credible Reliable Sources:

  • Authoritative publishers
  • Articles are written by well respected scholars in the field

Good Background Information:

  • Efficient method to identify key terms, dates, people, theories

Contact with the Relevant Literature:

  • Bibliographies lead to key thinkers and scholars in the field
  • Use our book catalog and journal locator to find the books and articles in the bibliographies

CREDO Online Reference

Credo Logo

CREDO provides online access to 650+ full text eBooks including encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and much more.  Searches can be expanded to include articles in SMU databases for more in depth coverage. Try the Mind Map feature to get ideas for related topics and key words

Additional Sources

*Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
An excellent open-access reference source created by contributions from libraries and philosophy departments all over the world. Features in depth articles with extensive bibliographies.
Online-full text access

*Wikipedia 
Find here an excellent introduction to Thomism and recent schools and interpretations that have developed.
Online-full text access

Examples from the Winona Library

Routledge Companion to Epistemology

Provides a comprehensive survey of epistemology, charting its history, providing a thorough account of its key thinkers and movements, and addressing enduring questions and contemporary research in the field

Philosophy of Knowledge: a History

This four-volume set presents the history of one of Western philosophy's greatest challenges: understanding the nature of knowledge. Each volume follows conceptions of knowledge that have been proposed, defended, replaced, and proposed anew

The Palgrave Kant Handbook

This comprehensive handbook provides a multifaceted investigation into the work of Immanuel Kant. It first sets Kant's work in its biographical and historical context. It then proceeds to explain and evaluate his revolutionary work in metaphysics and epistemology, logic, ethics, aesthetics, philosophy of science, philosophy of religion, political philosophy, philosophy of history, philosophy of education, and anthropology.--

Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more. Additionally, the encyclopedia also contains 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history