Course and Subject Guides: News Sources & News Literacy: News Aggregators

What is a news aggregator?

News aggregators collect news content from a variety of sources and present them in a single interface for the ease of users. They are typically focused on current news, but sometimes will have an archive.

Library News Aggregators

Catholic News Archive
The Archive is a project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA), a non-profit alliance of archives and libraries collaborating in support of the mission to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources. Incorporates 17 newspapers including The Catholic Worker.
Newspaper Source
This resource contains several local Minnesota newspapers such as Duluth News Tribune, Bemidji Pioneer, Lake Country News, Cloquet Pine Journal, Rochester Post-Bulletin, Worthington Daily Globe, as well as papers from Wisconsin. This resource also contains Al Jazeera and some TV and radio transcripts.
Regional Business News
"Regional Business News incorporates some 50 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States."
U.S. Newsstream
Access to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
WestlawNEXT
A comprehensive collection of news, business, and law-related information sources. Provides hundreds of newspapers--national and international, magazines, news wires, trade journals, as well as company information from Hoover's and reporting from Reuter's. Includes federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative codes, as well as European Union information, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, and American Jurisprudence 2d. All MN State Statutes are available here.

Free Online News Aggregators

Google News
Google News aggregates various news websites (more than 20,000 publishers) in a single feed. They use AI to customize the feed for each site visitor.
Yahoo! News
Yahoo! News aggregates news from various news sites in a single feed, customized to each user. Articles are interspersed with ads.