Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
- Highwire Press This link opens in a new windowFrom Stanford University Libraries, a large collection of scholarly publications focusing on the biological and medical sciences with some coverage of the physical and social sciences as well.
- MeSHMeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM (National Library of Medicine) controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing and Allied Health contains a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
- Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new windowPLoS publishes peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free, online journal citation database. It includes abstracts/citations from more than 5,200 scholarly journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed encompasses everything from MEDLINE, plus eBooks and other science citations. Tip: To find the full text of an article in PubMed/MEDLINE, select the article title in the search results. On the next page, select one of the full text buttons on the top right. If there's no link, you can still request the article through interlibrary loan.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Searches performed in PubMed/MEDLINE link out to full-text articles in PubMed Central, when available.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's largest providers of scholarly, peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical literature. Access to journals in mathematics, social sciences, arts and humanities, and business as well.
- Trip This link opens in a new windowTrip describes itself as "a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care." It has limiters for systematic reviews, controlled trials, and more.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is a prestigious Australian EBP organization.
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Libraries do NOT have a subscription to the JBI databases. But you may search the databases using the free links below.
Use Interlibrary Loan to find full-text. If you do not have complete citation information for an Interlibrary Loan Article request, put in what you do have. Be sure to list the Journal Title as JBI or the Joanna Briggs Institute.
- JBI Evidence SynthesisJournal website. Browse by year, volume, and issue.
- JBI Evidence Synthesis (Advanced Search)Journal website. Advanced Search page
- JBI Critical Appraisal ToolsChecklists to help you critically appraise research papers and projects based on their methodology.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (lib@smumn.edu)