SuperSearch
Essential Resource Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. A good place to start your research. Indexes some 85 journals in the field of music.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center provides access to a large collection of education journals and documents. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan). - Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
Also Useful
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
Tips for Searching Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Put phrases in quotation marks: "classroom management" "educational technology"
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings. For example: educat* will retrieve records for education, educators, educating, etc.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search:
AND: ("classroom management" AND technology) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (teachers OR instructors, education OR instruction) Broadens your search so that all records containing the term teachers as well as all records containing the term instructors come back to you etc.
NOT: (pianos NOT electronic) Narrows your search so that you get records about pianos but none that are about electronic pianos