History Guide

The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
​The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online.

The Minnesota Digital Library
Provides access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. Contributors include libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives. Includes Minnesota Reflections.

The Minnesota Historical Society
Includes online access to books, letters, photographs, historical records, works of art and more.

The Winona Newspaper Database
Provides public access to  online archive of four Winona city newspapers spanning from 1855 through 1976. This archive includes many issues of the following newspapers:
Winona Argus, 1855-1857
Winona Daily Republican, 1860–1901
Winona Republican Herald, 1905-1954
Winona Daily News, 1954-1976

Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
Provides historical data about the Minnesota Legislature and state government.

Winona County Historical Society

Now hosting three new traveling exhibits themed around the 100th anniversary of woman's suffrage in the Slaggie Family Lobby.

(Open Monday-Saturday 10:00 -4:00)

The Society operates three museums. 

• The Winona County History Center in downtown Winona houses the main museum facility, Laird Lucas Library and Archives, Society offices and program and event spaces.
• The Bunnell House is located in Homer off Highway 61
• The Rural Heritage Museum is on the Winona County Fairgrounds in Saint Charles.