Radiante by Olga Albizu. 1967.
Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gift of JPMorgan Chase, 2013.17
Alt-text from Smithsonian American Art Museum.
Oral Histories & Digital Archives
Chicana Por Mi Raza: Digital Memory Archive
Headed by University of Michigan professor Maria Cotera University of Michigan and filmmaker Linda Garcia Merchant, Chicana por mi Raza features interviews and archival materials related to Chicanx and Latinx civil rights activism.
Civil Rights in Black and Brown
From Texas Christian University, a collection of oral history interviews with civil rights activists.
Essays and analysis on El Diario, "an independent newspaper primarily published for and by Chicanx students at the University of Colorado Boulder between 1972 and 1983," authored by a team of student scholars at the University of Colorado-Boulder.
A collection of digitized items from the Iowa Women's Archives' Mujeres Latinas collections that "highlights the journeys Latinas and Latinos made to Iowa and situates the contributions of Latino communities within a broader understanding of Iowa’s history of migration and civil rights activism."
A collaborative oral history project from the Latino Migration Project, the Southern Oral History Project (housed in Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), and UNC Chapel Hill University Libraries, this interactive collection contains interviews with individuals who immigrated from Latin America to North Carolina.
Oral Narratives of Latin@s in Ohio
Headed by Dr. Elena Foulis and Dr. Cassie Patterson, this project "is a statewide initiative to collect, catalog, and preserve oral narratives of Latinos/as in Ohio in collaboration with the Ohio Hispanic Heritage Project and the Center for Folklore Studies."
Launched in 1999, the Voces Oral History Center at the University of Texas-Austin is " the leading Latino oral history archive in the United States." Features interviews with civil rights activists and veterans of World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War. Their most recent project, Voces of a Pandemic, features interviews about the impacts of COVID-19.