OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search many of our library databases at once, along with our print and ebook collections, video collections, and more. Note that OneSearch defaults to retrieving only materials we have in full text; to see more results you can obtain through Interlibrary Loan, simply click the slider next to Expand My Results on the left side of your results screen.
Useful Databases
- Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowAccess to the online version of Britannica Encyclopaedia, the academic edition. Includes Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, videos, biographies, country data, and links to the BBC News and the New York Times.
- Mapping Prejudice This link opens in a new windowUses digital mapping software to organize, analyze and display historic data about racial covenants in Minneapolis. Demonstrates history of structural racism.
- Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new windowRenaissance and Reformation is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal, multidisciplinary and bilingual from Iter.
- Salem History This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to the Milestone Documents of American Leaders reference set, a compilation of primary documents from notable Americans with commentary and analysis and The Encyclopedia of the 50 States.
- Slavery in America & the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window"Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery." (Publisher's Description)
- Statistical Abstract Series This link opens in a new windowUnited States statistics from 1870-2010. For the latest versions see the
Winona Library Reference Collection - Umbra Search African American History This link opens in a new windowUmbra Search.org brings together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
- WestlawNEXT This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of news, business, and law-related information sources. Provides hundreds of newspapers--national and international, magazines, news wires, trade journals, as well as company information from Hoover's and reporting from Reuter's. Includes federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative codes, as well as European Union information, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, and American Jurisprudence 2d. All MN State Statutes are available here.
Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the Library of Congress & the National Endowment for the Humanities, provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and a directory of newspapers published in the U.S. from 1690 to the present.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- Harp Week This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of Harper's Weekly and provides a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912. Covers much of the social, political, and economic history of the United States during this period.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub This link opens in a new windowThe Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online.
- New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for full text newspaper articles. 1980-current.
- Winona Newspaper Project This link opens in a new windowOnline archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona newspapers. Includes available issues of the Winona Argus, the Winona Daily Republican and the Winona Republican Herald.
Tips for Searching Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“Spanish civil war,” "income inequality")
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings
For example: histor* will retrieve records for history, historical, historian, historicity, etc.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (refugees AND Serbia) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (moral OR ethical) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word moral as well as all records containing the word ethical come back to you.
NOT: (Nero NOT Wolfe) will brings back records about the emperor but none that are about the mystery novelist Nero Wolfe.