What is "Peer-Review" ?
Peer Review is a process that journal editors use to ensure that the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc. Only articles that pass the review are published in the journal. (University of Texas Libraries)
"Research holding the torch of knowledge" (1896)
Olin Levi Warner
Creative Commons image
Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- America: History and Life
Comprehensive coverage of articles from journals, book reviews, and dissertations published worldwide on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. From pre-history to the present.
- JSTOR
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
- Project MUSE
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary source for scholarly journals and books. Our collection is available in full text. Uncheck "Only content I have full access to" if you want more search results, some of which may need to be requested from other libraries.
- Britannica Academic Edition
Access to the online version of Britannica Encyclopaedia, the academic edition. Includes Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, videos, biographies, country data, and links to the BBC News and the New York Times.
- Mapping Prejudice
Uses digital mapping software to organize, analyze and display historic data about racial covenants in Minneapolis. Demonstrates history of structural racism.
- Renaissance and Reformation
Renaissance and Reformation is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal, multidisciplinary and bilingual from Iter.
- Salem History
Provides online access to the Milestone Documents of American Leaders reference set, a compilation of primary documents from notable Americans with commentary and analysis and The Encyclopedia of the 50 States.
- Slavery in America & the World: History, Culture & Law
"Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery." (Publisher's Description)
- Statistical Abstract Series
United States statistics from 1870-2010. For the latest versions see the
Winona Library Reference Collection - Umbra Search African American History
Umbra Search.org brings together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Sponsored by the Library of Congress & the National Endowment for the Humanities, provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and a directory of newspapers published in the U.S. from 1690 to the present.
- U.S. Newsstream
Access to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- Harp Week
Includes the full text of Harper's Weekly and provides a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912. Covers much of the social, political, and economic history of the United States during this period.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online.
- New York Times
Search for full text newspaper articles. 1980-current.
- Winona Newspaper Project
Online archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona newspapers. Includes available issues of the Winona Argus, the Winona Daily Republican and the Winona Republican Herald.
Tips for Searching Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“Spanish civil war,” "income inequality")
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings
For example: histor* will retrieve records for history, historical, historian, historicity, etc.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (refugees AND Serbia) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (moral OR ethical) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word moral as well as all records containing the word ethical come back to you.
NOT: (Nero NOT Wolfe) will brings back records about the emperor but none that are about the mystery novelist Nero Wolfe.
Journal Finder: What Journals Does the Library Have?
If you have a citation for an article, use Publication Finder to see whether the library has full-text access to the journal in which the article appears. Search for the title of the journal.
Journal Finder lists all the journals, magazines, and newspapers that the library subscribes to and provides links to those that are online.
If we don't have the journal for the article you need you may request the article through interlibrary loan.