Library News Databases
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Including pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, it is useful for term papers, debates, and speeches. Use the archival reports for history research.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window"Regional Business News incorporates some 50 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States."
- New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for full text newspaper articles. 1980-current.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowSearch for full text newspaper articles.1984-current.
- WestlawNEXT This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of news, business, and law-related information sources. Provides hundreds of newspapers--national and international, magazines, news wires, trade journals, as well as company information from Hoover's and reporting from Reuter's. Includes federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative codes, as well as European Union information, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, and American Jurisprudence 2d. All MN State Statutes are available here.
Six Local Papers
- LaCrosse Tribune
Provides local Wisconsin as well as national and international news. Online version of print newspaper. Use the search box in the upper right hand corner for archival stories (goes back to 2005). See About Us for more information about the paper.
- MinnPost
"MinnPost is a nonprofit, nonpartisan enterprise whose mission is to provide high-quality journalism for news-intense people who care about Minnesota." Online presence only. Covers local, national, and international news stories. Use the search box in the upper right hand corner for archival stories (goes back to 2008). See About Us for more information about the paper.
- Rochester Post Bulletin
"The Post-Bulletin is the largest evening newspaper in the state and the largest daily newspaper in southeastern Minnesota." Online version of print newspaper. Emphasis is on local and regional stories, but some national news also available. Use the search box in the upper right hand corner for archival stories (goes back to 2013). See About Us for more information about the paper.
- Winona Daily News
Focus is on local and regional news with some coverage of national news. Online version of print newspaper.Use the search box in the upper right hand corner for archival stories (goes back to 2005).Winona
- Winona Post
Winona's twice weekly paper with a focus on local and regional news. Online version of the print newspaper. Archival stories back to 2003.
- Wisconsin State Journal
Online version of print newspaper published in Madison, WI. Focus is on state news stories with some national coverage. Archive search available.
In Summary
Major Newspapers: Online Sites
Major Radio: Online Sites
News Aggregators
Associated Press
An International news agency that provides reports through the World Wide Web, television, radio, and print publications. The agency compiles stories from various new outlets and republishes them through their various channels. The company was founded in 1846 and is based out of New York, New York. Associated Press is cooperatively owned by the various newspapers, radio, and television stations that regularly contribute news to the agency.
Reuters News Service
A portal for headline news stories across the world ranging from finances to entertainment. Reuters provides a comprehensive overview of stories that impact individuals across the world. The company is owned and operated by Thompson Reuters, which resulted from the merger between Thompson Corporation and Reuters Group PLC. The combination of the two companies formed one of the leading information reporting companies.
Project Syndicate: the World's Opinion Page
"Project Syndicate produces and delivers original, high-quality commentaries to a global audience. Featuring exclusive contributions by prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from around the world, we provide news media and their readers cutting-edge analysis and insight." (Site description)
"Journalism still, in a democracy, is the essential force to get the public educated and mobilized to take action on behalf of our ancient ideals." Doris Kearns Goodwin