Essential Research Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. (from EBSCO)
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center provides access to a large collection of education journals and documents. - Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of some 520 high-quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles as well as more than 200 educational reports. Includes full text for Chronicle of Higher Education, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Higher Education, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and Theory Into Practice.
Also Useful
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowFrom the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Coverage from Volume 9-current.
- Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowNow part of Mental Measurements. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over a million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related fields. - Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
Tips for Searching Online Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“classroom assessment” "distance learning" "cultural literacy")
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings
For example: educat* will retrieve records for education, educators, educational, etc.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (“curriculum” AND “middle school”) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (teacher OR instructor) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word teacher as well as all records containing the word instructor come back to you.
NOT: "alternative schools" NOT “charter schools” will brings back records about alternative schools and none that are about charter schools.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (lib@smumn.edu)