Databases - Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals. Includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center provides access to a large collection of education journals and documents.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
Databases - News Articles
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the Library of Congress & the National Endowment for the Humanities, provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and a directory of newspapers published in the U.S. from 1690 to the present.
- Google News Archive Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the archives of newspapers, magazines, and other publications and create timelines.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Interlibrary Loan
If the library doesn't have the resources you're looking for, you can request it at no cost to you. Interlibrary loan is a system where libraries share resources, including books, articles, and more.
Use this form to request an item or connect with a librarian (chat, email, or stop by) for more information.