William Blake's Albion
Wikipedia image
Recommended Websites
Use these sites to find quality information including many primary sources
British Women Romantic Poets 1789-1832
Provides an "online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act)."
CARO: The Lady Caroline Lamb Website
Includes biography, works, and related links.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay for view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU." See also the Google Scholar Blog for citation metrics.
Some full text, some pay for view
International Association of Byron Societies
Includes life, works, images, and extensive bibliography.
From the University of Iowa. Leigh Hunt (1784-1859) was a British Romantic writer and a contemporary of Byron, Shelley, and Keats. This digital collection aims to make both facsimile images and word-searchable transcripts of approximately 1,600 letters written by Hunt and his acquaintances available to scholars and the interested public.
Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online (NINES)
Gathers "the best scholarly resources in the field and make(s) them fully searchable and interoperable; and provide(s) an online collecting and authoring space in which researchers can create and publish their own work."
From the publishers of Poetry Magazine, a good source for biographies and excellent bibliographies.
"A refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture."
Sublime Anxiety: The Gothic Family and the Outsider
Includes "The Shelleys and their Circle" and "Women and the Gothic.
Provides links to resources in British Romanticism. Includes links to social and political issues of the time period.
The Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors have given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees. Includes a bibliography of related sources.