Subject Specific Article Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access note: Cochrane reviews are freely available 12 months after publication and all protocols are freely available immediately. Other material is not available, but may be accessible through interlibrary loan. -
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing and Allied Health contains a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
-
Ovid Nurse Anesthesia Journals This link opens in a new windowThis database searches and provides the full text of 14 popular nurse anesthesia journals including Anesthesia & Analgesia, Anesthesiology, and Critical Care Medicine.
-
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Searches performed in PubMed/MEDLINE link out to full-text articles in PubMed Central, when available.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's largest providers of scholarly, peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical literature. Access to journals in mathematics, social sciences, arts and humanities, and business as well.
-
Trip This link opens in a new windowTrip describes itself as "a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care." It has limiters for systematic reviews, controlled trials, and more. Select articles are available open access.
Additional Databases that are in your JHEBP Book (in Chapter 5)
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU." -
Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
Database Guides
-
Google Scholar InformationInformation about how to best use Google Scholar
-
PubMed Database GuideInformation about how to use PubMed and Medical Subject Headings (MESH)
-
PubMed TutorialsOnline Training by PubMed.