Scholarly Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU." - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
Current Topics Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Including pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, it is useful for term papers, debates, and speeches. Use the archival reports for history research.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Consists of a series of essays presenting multiple sides of a current issue. Provides over 250 topics, each with an overview, point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.