Chemistry Databases
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journals from the American Chemical Society--a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences.
- Angewandte Chemie (International Edition) This link opens in a new windowThis index provides citations, abstracts, and supporting information for articles published in Angewandte Chemie (International Edition), a leading general chemistry journal. If you need the full text of an article, request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
You can often locate experimental information in the Supporting Information without needing the full text of the article.
- Organic Syntheses This link opens in a new windowSearch Organic Syntheses for detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowProvides researchers unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. You can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references. To use SciFinder you must first register to set up a login and password. This must be done on campus and with your smumn.edu e-mail address. SciFinder will issue you a login and password which will also work for off campus access. Use this link for self registration.
- Introduction to SciFinderTutorial providing an introduction to SciFinder. Includes instruction on searching for substances, reactions, and references, along with analyzing and refining search results. Also includes a brief introduction to SciPlanner.
- Training Videos - Substance SearchingWant to know more about substance searching? These short videos quickly give you the information you need to use SciFinder effectively! See ways to input structures to conduct substance or reaction searches using the drawing editor.
- Training Videos - Reaction SearchingWant to know more about reaction searching? These short videos quickly give you the information you need to use SciFinder effectively to search for specific chemical reactions or reaction types.