Databases - Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free, online journal citation database. It includes abstracts/citations from more than 5,200 scholarly journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed encompasses everything from MEDLINE, plus eBooks and other science citations. Tip: To find the full text of an article in PubMed/MEDLINE, select the article title in the search results. On the next page, select one of the full text buttons on the top right. If there's no link, you can still request the article through interlibrary loan.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Searches performed in PubMed/MEDLINE link out to full-text articles in PubMed Central, when available.
News Websites
International News Sources
- Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English, headquartered in Qatar, is known for in-depth and frontline reporting particularly in conflict zones. They cover news in the Middle East and around the world.
- BBC News
BBC News, from the UK, is the world's largest broadcast news organization.
- Reuters
Reuters, headquartered in the UK, is one of the largest news agencies in the world.
US News Sources
- Associated Press (AP)
The AP is a not-for-profit news agency headquartered in the US. It produces news reports covering the US and the rest of the world that are distributed to major US news sources.
- CNN
CNN is a multinational news channel and website that is a leading U.S. news source.
- New York Times
The New York Times covers national and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. As one of the longest-running newspapers in the United States, the Times serves as one of the country's newspapers of record.
- New York Times (Library Access)
Use our library subscription to gain access if you run into a paywall.
- NPR
NPR produces and distributes both news and cultural programming. While it was established by an act of Congress, NPR operates independently of any government or corporation.
- Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal covers both national and international news, with a focus on business and finance. It is one of the United States' leading newspapers.
- Wall Street Journal (Library Access)
Use our library subscription to gain access if you run into a paywall.
- Washington Post
The Washington Post covers national and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. It serves as one of the country's newspapers of record.
Databases - News Articles
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the Library of Congress & the National Endowment for the Humanities, provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and a directory of newspapers published in the U.S. from 1690 to the present.
- Google News Archive Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the archives of newspapers, magazines, and other publications and create timelines.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 national newspapers. Includes full text for the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Interlibrary Loan
If the library doesn't have the resources you're looking for, you can request it at no cost to you. Interlibrary loan is a system where libraries share resources, including books, articles, and more.
Use this form to request an item or connect with a librarian (chat, email, or stop by) for more information.