This page explores the database APA PsycTESTS by covering how to search the database, different filters/aspects of the database, and how it links back to another APA database, PsycINFO.
APA PsycTests
-
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS provides access to published and unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, and surveys, as well as descriptive information about the resources including their development, reliability and validity, and administration. PsycTESTS focuses primarily on unpublished tests - those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. PsycTESTS is useful for students studying psychology, education, medicine, business,
and social work.
Searching PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS has many similarities to other databases through EBSCOhost like keyword searching, finding full text features, and filtering by year.
What is special about PscyTESTS is that there are other filters that directly relate to tests and measures that you can search by just selecting the filter.
These filters include:
- Tests Type
- Methodology
- Administration Method
- Commercially Available
- Instrument Type
- Permissions
- Population Group
- Supporting Documentation
Copyright and Use Considerations
The "Permissions" filter on PsycTESTS is important when considering the copyright of a test/measure. The different options of this filter are:
- May use for Research/Teaching
- Contact Corresponding Author
- Contact Publisher
- Contact Publisher and Corresponding Author
- Not Specifed
Here are directions on how to refine your search by "May use for Research/Teaching"
- At the PsycTESTS homepage, scroll down below the search bar to view advanced searching filters. The Permissions filter is located toward the bottom of the available filters.
- Click it to view a drop down list.
- Select may use for Research/Teaching from the drop down menu.
Finding Test Manuals
Test manuals discuss how tests were developed, standardized, and determined to be reliable and valid. Because many of the tests in PsycTESTS are unpublished and not commercially available, many will not have test manuals.
To limit your search to instruments with manuals:
1. Scroll down to find the Supporting Documentation limiter on the main search screen.
2. Select Instructor/Test Manual/Guide
3. Option to search with search terms at the top of the page, and the option just to search with this filter alone.
4. Select Full Text.
5. Once in the desired record, scroll down to "Supporting Documentation Link." This will lead you to the available manual
PsycTESTS to PsycINFO
A useful part of a PsycTESTS record is the source citation. The source citation is a full citation of the test development which often includes a link back to another EBSCO database, PsycINFO.
The PsycINFO record connected from PscyTESTS is usually a paper written about the test, so it includes aspects like development, use, reliability, and validity.
These papers are not the same as a test manual, but they can be used in a similar way to decipher information about a test.