SuperSearch
Key Databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPremier database for scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowAn excellent open-access reference source created by contributions from libraries and philosophy departments all over the world. Features in depth articles with extensive bibliographies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
Tips for Searching Online Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“death of God”)
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings.
For example: ethic* will retrieve records for ethic, ethics, ethical, ethicist
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (“William James” AND “will to believe”) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you.
OR: (moral OR ethical) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word moral as well as all records containing the word ethical come back to you.
NOT: (Kierkegaard NOT “fear and trembling”) will brings back records about Kierkegaard and none that are about fear and trembling.