Databases for GIS
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources. Multidisciplinary. A good place to start your research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed for business researchers, provides full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Business Source Premier provides easy access to country economic data, company profiles, industry information, SWOT analyses, and market research.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains some 300,000 articles selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndex to dissertations and theses in all fields of study. Provides citations and/or abstracts, as well as a 24-page preview of any dissertations that have been digitized in the Humanities and Social Sciences fields.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature.
Contains some open access materials.
When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU." - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
- MegaFile (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO MegaFILE is a large multi-disciplinary database. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subjects. It offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains biographies, primary source documents, company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, scholarly journals in the areas of Religious Studies, Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Physical & Life Sciences, Nursing & Health Sciences, Political Science, Criminology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning, and Psychology.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's largest providers of scholarly, peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical literature. Access to journals in mathematics, social sciences, arts and humanities, and business as well.
Tips for Searching Databases
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Use key words to search, not full sentences.
Put phrases in quotation marks: "solar energy" "virtual reality" "resource analysis"
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings. Crim* will find crime, criminal, criminology, etc.
Wom*n will find women & woman.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: Limits search (GIS AND crime)
OR: Expands search (GIS OR geographic information systems)
NOT: Excludes terms (GIS NOT criminology)
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Use our 24/7 chat or contact the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / helpdesk@smumn.edu) or the Library (lib@smumn.edu)