It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multiple Key Words or Phrases: Place in separate boxes or separate by Boolean operators. Don’t string them together all on one line as you would in Google.
Phrase Search: Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase search (“graphic design” "art therapy" "social realism")
Truncation: Add an asterisk * to the end of a term to retrieve results with multiple endings
For example:express* will retrieve records for expression, expressionism, expressionists, etc.
Boolean Operators can help you expand or narrow your search
AND: (“Picasso” AND “blue period”) Narrows your search so that only records containing both search terms come back to you. OR: (artist or designer) Broadens your search so that all records containing the word artist as well as all records containing the word designer come back to you. NOT: "medieval cathedrals" NOT “Romanesque” will brings back records about medieval cathedrals and none that are about Romanesque cathedrals.
This resource covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film and architecture.
Includes expanded Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art. In addition to articles, this database indexes
reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Provides multi-disciplinary access to scholarly journals and books. Our collection (Arts & Sciences 1-IV and VII) is available in full text. To get more search results, change the "Select an access type" menu from the default "Content I can access" to "All content." Some of this content may need to be requested from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan).
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Call or email the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / email@example.com) or the Research Desk (507-457-1572 / firstname.lastname@example.org)