Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes peer-reviewed journals and reports, as well as pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Each year Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
From Cornell University, open access to scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. (Articles not peer reviewed by arXiv.)
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, designed to support the information needs of patients and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, books, reports, and pamphlets.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. When accessing this database through the link provided here you will find free connections to the pay-for-view materials that are located in our subscription sources. Just click on "Find Full Text @SMU."
MedlinePlus is a patient-oriented online health information resource distinct from PubMed/MEDLINE. Available in both English and Spanish, it brings together reliable information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Topic pages contain links to medical journal articles on PubMed. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health and wellness news.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free, online journal citation database. It includes abstracts/citations from more than 5,200 scholarly journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed encompasses everything from MEDLINE, plus eBooks and other science citations. Tip: To find the full text of an article in PubMed/MEDLINE, select the article title in the search results. On the next page, select one of the full text buttons on the top right. If there's no link, you can still request the article through interlibrary loan.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Searches performed in PubMed/MEDLINE link out to full-text articles in PubMed Central, when available.
One of the world's largest providers of scholarly, peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical literature. Access to journals in mathematics, social sciences, arts and humanities, and business as well.
Off Campus Access
You will be asked to supply your Saint Mary's user name and password to access subscription databases from off campus. Problems? Call or email the Help Desk (507-457-7800 / email@example.com) or the Research Desk (507-457-1562 / firstname.lastname@example.org)