History Guide

American Memory/Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. Provides a gateway to a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites.

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. 

Digital Repositories at Duke
Collections and scholarship from Duke University Libraries

EuroDocs
Online Sources for European History, maintained by Brigham Young University

Hathi Trust
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. 

Internet Archive.org
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet History Sourcebooks from Fordham University
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. 

Making of America from Michigan University
The Michigan University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. 

Newspaper Navigator
Search 1.56 million historic newspaper photos

Photogrammar
​Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information.

RUSA
Finding Primary Sources for American History

Sam Huston State University
From the Newton Gresham Library primary document collections in American history

Slave Voyages

"This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action."

Yale Avalon Project
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. They also link to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

Yale's Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscripts Library

Contains over one million images. The interface allows users to search documents by subject, format, genre, resource type, language, creator, geography, and date; users can also browse highlights of the collections including the Langston Hughes Papers, the manuscript of Dante Alighieri’s Divina Commedia, the Gutenberg Bible, James Baldwin’s poems, typed and corrected and lots more.

Using Primary Sources from the Web From the American Library Association

Finding, evaluating, and using