"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
Designed for business researchers, provides full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Use the Business Searching Interface for easy access to country economic data, company profiles, industry information, SWOT analyses, and market research.
Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Including pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, it is useful for term papers, debates, and speeches. Use the archival reports for history research.
Consists of a series of essays presenting multiple sides of a current issue. Provides over 250 topics, each with an overview, point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
A comprehensive collection of news, business, and law-related information sources. Provides hundreds of newspapers--national and international, magazines, news wires, trade journals, as well as company information
from Hoover's and reporting from Reuter's. Includes federal and state case law, statues, regulations, and administrative codes, as well as European Union information, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, and American Jurisprudence 2d. All MN State Statues are available here.
This accessible legal history describes how the Second Amendment has been interpreted throughout most of American history and shows that today's gun-rights advocates have drastically departed from the long-held interpretation of the constitutional right to bear arms. Armed in America explores how and why the right to arms transformed at different points in history. (from publisher's description)
"Weaving together the story of a landmark Supreme Court case and the personalities that influenced America's gun culture, the author shows how gun rights--and gun control--have shaped the nation. Form the Founding Fathers, who had burdensome gun laws that today's gun lobby would never accept, to the Black Panthers, who launched the modern gun rights movement, the book offers insights into guns in America and maps a way to break the current stalemate in the gun debate." (from publisher's description)
"This book examines the controversies surrounding gun control, which are less about whether it "works" and more about whether the nation should prioritize traditional values of rugged independence or newer values of communitarian interdependence." (description from https://www.abc-clio.com/ABC-CLIOCorporate/product.aspx?pc=A6048C)
"This book offers coverage of the key issues surrounding guns in the United States, especially on the debate over gun control. The book provides a balanced view of the contemporary gun debate in the United States, explaining the positions of both gun rights proponents and advocates of stricter gun control. It draws on an array of research in criminology, history, law, medicine, politics, and social science to provide a comprehensive reference on gun issues." (from publisher's description)